History

There is a lot of history on these

streets. We are the debris of the same

disaster – I am the creation, and you

are the process of reconstruction.

Darling, you paint yourself a better

picture – watercolour skies instead 

of brooding storms. And yet

they say you look like me – the same

dark eyes, nose bridge and the

gentle smile. We make a 

really good team, we do. We are

the same gunshot in the dead

of the night – you are the trigger, I 

am the safety lock. I wish I could do more

to make you feel better,

today. I wish I could show 

you how the sun breaking through

the curtains will chase your 

demons away. It is hard to not see 

your parents in yourself. But smash

every mirror you come

across. You were given 50% of 

me to make it on your own. Do it.
~Ritika

P.S : For those who were unable to figure it out, this is a poor recreation of the advice my father gave me ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “History

  1. I don’t know about you, but it’s strange how we see meaning in their words when the time has passed. And then, life repeats itself with our own kids. Either ways, that’s great advice he’s given you! Hope you’re making the most of it? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not in this case, but in life, if we could only see how just like your pops, we are destined to recreate history, or better yet to want to recreate it. Also we do not comprehend that to go off on a opposite, due to seeking change and being offended, still could bring us full circle. But I have to say, your circumstances in part inspire you. Your pain will bring you to a choice. Your hurt will equip you, outfit you as is so obvious to your readers. I’ve come backwards to read this for on 7/4 you as of yet have no posts, something I wanted to say; You are so full of promise, potential. I wish you success, if that is what you wish

    Like

Leave a Reply

