When the Music Ends

When the music ends,
I want to forget my dreams of standing next to you
Wrapped in white, wishing for a
Lifetime together.
 
When the music ends,
I want to stop smelling of
Thunderstorms and breakups,
And the cheap vodka that
Traces the veins on my neck
Just like the smudged mascara does.

 
When the music ends,
I want to forget the state of
Perpetual cold that you put me in.
The kind that led me to almost believe that I
Won’t ever be warm again.
The kind that makes my head feel heavy and
My heart throb in my toes.
 
When the music ends,
I want to say your name,
Freely, without
Any alcohol in my system.
I want to be able to tell stories of
What we had; a tilt-a-whirl,
Disorienting kind of romance,
Without regurgitating every yellow trace
Of the bitter memories that made my existence the
Ugliest green.
 
When the music ends,
I hope that you’re just a ghost
At most.
I want to stop writing you out of my veins
And vomiting you away in the sink.
Because my inane verses meant as much to you
As my existence did.
 
I’m at this point when I realize
That I won’t remember anything when
I wake up tomorrow.
 
So, when the music ends,
I will have said all my goodbyes to you.
~Ritika

14 thoughts on “When the Music Ends

  1. Now ! This is quite a beautiful piece of poetry ! A delight to read……I cannot imagine the creativity it takes to weave such words.
    Thank you for posting

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

